What is ITIL Certification?



Post Date:

ITIL certification is a professional certification in IT service management (ITSM) based on the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) framework. ITIL is a set of best practices for ITSM that is widely adopted by organizations around the world. ITIL certification is designed to help individuals and organizations understand and implement the ITIL framework in their ITSM practices. 

 ITIL provides a structured and comprehensive approach to ITSM that can help organizations improve their service delivery and customer satisfaction. There are several levels of ITIL certification, including Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert, and Master. Each level covers different aspects of ITIL, from basic concepts to advanced practices.

ITIL V4 Foundation

ITIL V4 Foundation Certification is a globally recognized professional certification in IT service management (ITSM) based on the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) V4 framework. It is designed to help individuals and organizations understand the core concepts of ITIL V4 and how it can be used to improve IT service management. The certification is intended for individuals who have a basic understanding of ITSM and want to enhance their knowledge and skills in the field. It covers the fundamental concepts of ITIL V4, including the service value system, service value chain, guiding principles, and key ITSM practices. To earn the ITIL V4 Foundation Certification, individuals must pass an exam that covers the core concepts of ITIL V4. The exam is typically 60 minutes long and consists of 40 multiple-choice questions. Candidates must score at least 65% to pass the exam and earn the certification.

ITIL Practitioner

The ITIL Practitioner certification focuses on the implementation of ITIL concepts and principles in real-world situations. It emphasizes the importance of the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) approach and provides guidance on how to apply it effectively to identify areas of improvement and implement solutions that align with business goals. The ITIL Practitioner certification is designed for IT professionals who have already completed the ITIL Foundation certification and have some practical experience in IT service management. By obtaining this certification, professionals can demonstrate their ability to apply ITIL concepts and principles in practical situations and contribute to the ongoing improvement of IT service management practices within their organization.

ITIL Intermediate

The ITIL Intermediate certification is divided into two modules: Service Lifecycle and Service Capability. Service Lifecycle covers the five core ITIL publications and how they relate to each other, while Service Capability focuses on the practical application of ITIL in specific areas, such as Service Offerings and Agreements, Release, Control, and Validation, and Operational Support and Analysis.

ITIL Expert

ITIL Expert certification is intended for IT professionals who have completed the ITIL Foundation and Intermediate certifications and have accumulated at least 17 credits from the ITIL scheme. It provides a comprehensive understanding of the ITIL framework and its application in complex, real-world environments.

ITIL Master

ITIL Master is the highest level of ITIL certification and is awarded to IT professionals who have demonstrated mastery of the ITIL framework. To obtain this certification, candidates must demonstrate their ability to apply ITIL concepts and principles in a practical situation and achieve business outcomes. The ITIL Master certification is currently only available to those who have achieved ITIL Expert certification. To earn an ITIL certification, individuals must typically attend a training course and pass an exam that tests their knowledge of the ITIL framework. The certification is typically valid for a certain period of time, after which individuals may need to renew their certification through additional training or exams.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments