What’s the Reason Behind the Absence of TOGAF 10 Foundation or TOGAF 10 Practitioner?



Post Date:

The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) is a widely recognized and adopted framework for enterprise architecture. While the structure and content of the framework have evolved over the years, the recent absence of TOGAF 10 Foundation or TOGAF 10 Practitioner certifications has raised questions among many professionals in the field. The reasons behind this shift are both insightful and indicative of the evolving nature of enterprise architecture.

Decoupling Certifications from the TOGAF Standard

The decision to part ways with the TOGAF 10 Foundation or TOGAF 10 Practitioner certifications was not made lightly. It was a deliberate move to decouple the naming of the certifications from the standard itself. This change was driven by the broad nature of the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition, which now encompasses multiple documents, making it more comprehensive than ever before. By decoupling the certifications from the standard, the TOGAF Standard has the freedom to evolve independently of the certification program. This is a significant shift that allows the standard to adapt swiftly to the changing landscape of enterprise architecture, without being bound by the constraints of a certification program.

Broad Nature of the TOGAF Standard

The TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition, covers a broad array of topics, and a general foundation or practitioner certification would merely skim the surface of these vast areas. Given the extensive coverage of the standard, having a foundational certification would not do justice to the depth and breadth of knowledge that the TOGAF Standard embodies. It would result in a very shallow overview, failing to provide the depth of understanding necessary for professionals to apply the framework effectively in their roles.

Development of Learning Paths and Certifications

To address this, several learning paths and certifications have been defined based on a set of learning outcomes drawn from the standard. These cater to specific skill sets and competencies, such as the TOGAF Enterprise Architect and the TOGAF Business Architect, among others. In addition to multi-day learning paths leading to certification, there is also the option to pursue smaller chunks of learning, starting from as little as three hours. These are available in the form of certification credentials that cover some specialisms.

Current Portfolio of Certifications

The current portfolio of certifications based on the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition, is diverse and tailored for different professional needs. It includes TOGAF Enterprise Architecture Foundation, TOGAF Enterprise Architecture Practitioner, and TOGAF Business Architecture Foundation. There are also certification credentials that offer more specialized learning, including Integrating Risk and Security in a TOGAF Enterprise Architecture, TOGAF Framework: Digital Specialist, TOGAF Framework: Agile Specialist, and TOGAF EA Leader.

The absence of TOGAF 10 Foundation or TOGAF 10 Practitioner certifications is not a loss but a reflection of the evolution of the TOGAF Certification Program. This evolution aligns the program with the expansive nature of the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition, and better serves the diverse needs of professionals in the field. By offering certifications that are more tailored and specialized, the program ensures that individuals can deepen their knowledge and skills in the areas most relevant to their roles and aspirations.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments