How to Earn FCP in Network Security Certification?



Post Date:

FCP in Network Security certification validates the ability to secure networks and applications using Fortinet's advanced security products. This certification is a testament to an individual's expertise in deploying, managing, and monitoring Fortinet network security solutions. The FCP (Fortinet Certified Professional) in Network Security certification is designed for IT professionals who seek to enhance their skills and knowledge in network security using Fortinet products. The certification process is rigorous and ensures that certified professionals are well-versed in the latest security technologies and best practices.

Certification Structure

To achieve the FCP in Network Security certification, candidates must pass one core exam and one elective exam within a two-year period. This dual-exam requirement ensures that candidates possess both a solid foundation in Fortinet’s primary security solutions and specialized knowledge in a specific area.

Core Exam

The core exam is a mandatory component of the certification process. Candidates can choose between two options:

  1. NSE 4 FortiOS: This exam focuses on FortiOS, the operating system that powers Fortinet’s FortiGate security appliances. It covers the configuration, management, and troubleshooting of FortiGate devices.
  2. FCP - FortiGate Administrator: This exam tests the candidate's ability to effectively administer FortiGate devices, ensuring robust network security and performance.

Elective Exams

In addition to the core exam, candidates must pass one elective exam. The available options cover a range of Fortinet products, allowing candidates to specialize in a particular area of network security:

  1. NSE 5 FortiAnalyzer (version 7.0 or older): Focuses on using FortiAnalyzer for logging, analyzing, and reporting security events.
  2. NSE 6 FortiAnalyzer Administrator/FCP-FortiAnalyzer Administrator: Examines advanced administrative tasks for FortiAnalyzer.
  3. NSE 6 FortiAuthenticator/FCP-FortiAuthenticator Administrator: Covers identity management and single sign-on solutions with FortiAuthenticator.
  4. NSE 5 FortiClient EMS/FCP-FortiClient EMS Administrator: Focuses on endpoint security management with FortiClient EMS.
  5. NSE 5 FortiManager/FCP-FortiManager Administrator: Examines centralized network security management using FortiManager.
  6. NSE 6 FortiNAC: Focuses on network access control solutions with FortiNAC.
  7. NSE 6 FortiSwitch: Covers the deployment and management of FortiSwitch devices.
  8. NSE 6 Secure Wireless LAN: Examines secure wireless networking solutions using Fortinet products.

Certification Validity

Once both the core and elective exams are successfully completed, the FCP in Network Security certification is awarded and remains valid for two years from the date of the second exam. This validity period ensures that certified professionals stay current with the latest advancements in network security technologies and practices.

Benefits of FCP in Network Security Certification

Earning the FCP in Network Security certification offers numerous benefits for IT professionals:

  • Enhanced Expertise: Validates the ability to effectively secure networks using Fortinet products.
  • Career Advancement: Opens up opportunities for higher-level positions in network security.
  • Industry Recognition: Demonstrates commitment to maintaining high standards in network security.
  • Up-to-Date Knowledge: Ensures that certified professionals are knowledgeable about the latest security trends and technologies.

The FCP in Network Security certification is an excellent opportunity for IT professionals to enhance their skills and validate their expertise in using Fortinet's comprehensive suite of network security solutions. By completing both the core and elective exams within two years, candidates not only gain valuable knowledge but also position themselves as leaders in the field of network security. As cyber threats continue to evolve, the importance of having certified professionals who can protect and manage network infrastructure cannot be overstated.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments